Goa State Museum – A Hub of Antiquity and Information

Being a Social Science teacher, I like tondeduct hints from any antic piece about how the society was during that time. Visiting Goa state museum was in my wish-list and I almost threatened my kids that even if they didn’t want to go there, I would visit it alone. Later, I was more than happy to see that my kids followed my trail. On the other hand, my friend was not much into history so she preferred to laze around on the beach with her kid.

Spotting the location of the museum was bit problematic as it was hidden behind some office buildings in EDC complex, Panaji. Though the museum remains open from 9.30 am-5.30 pm from Monday to Friday, I wanted to visit it early, as time was short.

State Museum Goa

State Museum Goa | Image Resource : wordpress.com

The building was ancient but well-maintained. The interior was beautifully designed and squeaky clean. There was no entry fee which made me really thankful to the staff here who, despite the lack of monetary reward, kept this space organized.

The museum was divided into three sections. The first section had relics from Vedic as well as Mughal era. I particularly liked the Shiva idols that had been excavated from South Goa. On the other hand, both of my kids are pretty much into coin collection so they were hooked with the displaying Mughal coins.

Goa State Museum

Goa State Museum | Image Resource : en.wikipedia.org

The Goa State Museum had a large collection regarding Portuguese ruling period. This was in fact the second section and it had a vast merchant sailor ship resembling the ones- used by Portuguese explorers like Vasco Da Gama and St. Francis.

The third section depicted the naval history of Goa, along with the artifacts that were associated with independence movement of Goa.

Artifacts on display at Goa State Museum

Artifacts on display at Goa State Museum | Image Resource : commons.wikimedia.org

Among all the historical objects, what etched most deeply in my memory was a lottery machine made from wood. It was that amazing and I am sure it was pretty exclusive.

Over all, we spent about an hour in this museum, but before we stepped out, my kids told in chorus that next time they will come with sufficient time at hand and visit this museum more minutely. I felt triumphant!

Leave a Reply

