Feel The Splendor In Tradition At Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal Madurai!

For me vacations are not only a means to enjoy and ravish. I would prefer a holiday that is much informative and where I can gather information. If there is one place with so much of information on Indian history, and especially for a historic lover like me Madurai offers a platter of information! Even for those history haters, they would fall in love with this palace, Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal Madurai.

I had seen palaces back at my hometown in Jaipur, but this one really has a charm of its own. Well, the traveler inside me got a new energy. The thriving 375 year old palace stood like a testimony to the amazing years of the Nayak regime. It was quite disappointing when I heard that only one fourth of the palace was intact. When just this small piece of palace looked like those at my hometown, I imagined how beautiful would it be if the whole palace would have been.

Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal Madurai

Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal Madurai | Image Resource : wikimapia.org

It was a gift and a gem of Tamil Nadu!

Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal: A Traditional Beauty of Madurai!

The enthralling feel I got when I first stepped into this palace is unforgettable. Well, who will not be tangled to the marvelous architecture of the palace and I am being a history lover is no exception. The pillars on either side at the entrance connecting the ceiling made a pathway and there were small carving on the ceilings.

Is it even possible to make such minute designs in the ceilings? Learnt from a guide that the king ordered for the best sculpture in India and the designs were done with his orders!

I first visited the Swarga Vilasam, it is the celestial pavilion and a throne room. Well, all I felt was it was a blend of Islamic and Dravidian styles. It showed that people forgot the religions and lived together. The glossiness and the smooth structure of the palace were eye-catching.

In a nutshell, I would say for a person like me thriving to get more and more information about historic India, this place is a good start. My Madurai trip will always stay in my unforgettable travel records.

Leave a Reply

